View Full Version : 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup? Dates Announced

10-19-05, 12:20 PM
CONCACAF today announced the dates for the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup? tournament.
The twelve-team event will kick-off on Wednesday, 6 June and conclude with the final game scheduled for Sunday, 24 June 2007. Cities across the USA are expected to host the 2007 edition of the bi-annual event, which will once again crown the national team champion of the CONCACAF region.

Following the great success of the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup?, which saw record attendances and TV audiences, CONCACAF will once again partner with Soccer United Marketing to organize and promote the 2007 edition of the tournament.

In announcing the 2007 tournament dates, CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer said, ?The 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup? was a wonderful success with high quality soccer on the field, a great atmosphere at games and a huge following on TV. The Gold Cup is now firmly established in the global soccer calendar and in 2007 we will be aiming to build on that success even further.?

The USA won the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup? by beating Panama in a dramatic penalty shootout in the final held at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey on 24 July. The victory was the USA?s third Gold Cup crown, with Mexico having previously won four Gold Cup titles and Canada one.

Details on the specific venues that will host Gold Cup games in 2007 are expected to be announced in early 2006.

1991 - USA - Honduras - Los Angeles, Pasadena (USA)
1993 - Mexico - USA - Dallas (USA); Ciudad de México (México)
1996 - Mexico - Brazil - Anaheim, San Diego, Los Angeles (USA)
1998 - Mexico - USA - Oakland, Miami, Los Angeles (USA)
2000 - Canada - Colombia - San Diego, Miami, Los Angeles (USA)
2002 - USA - Costa Rica - Pasadena, Miami (USA)
2003 - Mexico - Brazil - Foxboro, Miami (USA); Ciudad de México (México)
2005 - USA - Panama - Carson, Foxboro, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, NY/NJ, Seattle (USA)